Charged with a criminal offense in Virginia?
Our Virginia criminal law firm represents Virginia Commonwealth residents who have been charged with a criminal offense. Virginia criminal lawyer David Long has experience representing clients for all types of criminal offenses, several are listed below. If you have been arrested for a criminal offense in Virginia contact our law firm today for a FREE legal consultation.
Virginia Minor In Possession Consequences
If you’re under age 21 and you purchase, possess and/or consume alcohol, you face a fine ranging from $500 to $2,500, up to 12 months in jail, and mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months but not more than one year.
If you are under age 21 and you use or attempt to use an altered, fictitious or simulated document or student ID to establish a false age in an attempt to consume or purchase alcoholic beverages, you will:
- Be fined at least $500 or, be required to perform at least 50 hours of community service.
- Face up to 12 months in jail and,
- Face mandatory suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months but not more than one year.
If you are charged for minor in possession (MIP) in Chesterfield, Richmond, or Henrico, please call our Virginia Criminal Lawyers for a free legal consultation
PROTECTIVE ORDERS IN VIRGINIA
What is a Protective Order?
It is a court order issued by a magistrate or judge to guarantee an abused person’s health and safety, as well as the health and safety of his or her family or household members. The individual who requests a protective order is referred to as the “petitioner,” and the person against whom the protective order is filed is referred to as the “respondent.”
Driving Under The Influence in Virginia
Once you are convicted of driving under the influence in Virginia, you’ll have to face some severe consequences. A first offense DUI brings a mandatory fine of at least $250. Your driver’s license will be suspended for one year, and you’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device.
When your blood alcohol concentration is 0.2% or higher when you are arrested, your penalty will include a mandatory minimum 10-day jail sentence in addition to your other penalties. The second such offense within 10 years carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 20 days in addition to the other penalties.
If you were arrested for DUI in Richmond, DUI in Chesterfield, or DUI in Henrico, contact our Virginia Criminal Attorneys for a free legal consultation.