Prince George County Virginia Criminal Lawyers
Our Virginia criminal attorneys provide legal representation to clients who have been arrested for criminal charges in Prince George County, Virginia. If you have been arrested for a criminal offense in Prince George County, contact our law firm today for a FREE criminal case consultation and to make sure your legal rights are protected.
Minors in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer in Prince George County, VA
It’s illegal for anybody under 21 years of age to purchase alcohol, or to drink alcohol in a public place like a bar or restaurant. Laws for minor in possession of alcohol vary from state to state, some states tend to be more lenient about minors drinking at their own home. In numerous states, minors can drink at home or on private property, but only with parental consent.
Have you been charged with a MIP in Prince George, VA? Contact Prince George MIP criminal lawyer David Long for a FREE Consultation 804.285.3888.
Virginia Minor in Possession Laws
- A. No person to whom an alcoholic beverage may not lawfully be sold under § 4.1-304 shall consume, purchase or possess, or attempt to consume, purchase or possess, any alcoholic beverage, except (i) pursuant to subdivisions 1 through 7 of § 4.1-200; (ii) where possession of the alcoholic beverages by a person less than 21 years of age is due to such person’s making a delivery of alcoholic beverages in pursuance of his employment or an order of his parent; or (iii) by any state, federal, or local law-enforcement officer or his agent when possession of an alcoholic beverage is necessary in the performance of his duties. Such person may be prosecuted either in the county or city in which the alcohol was possessed or consumed, or in the county or city in which the person exhibits evidence of physical indicia of consumption of alcohol. It shall be an affirmative defense to a charge of a violation of this subsection if the defendant shows that such consumption or possession was pursuant to subdivision 7 of § 4.1-200.
- B. No person under the age of 21 years shall use or attempt to use any (i) altered, fictitious, facsimile or simulated license to operate a motor vehicle, (ii) altered, fictitious, facsimile or simulated document, including, but not limited to a birth certificate or student identification card, or (iii) motor vehicle operator’s license, birth certificate or student identification card of another person in order to establish a false identification or false age for himself to consume, purchase or attempt to consume or purchase an alcoholic beverage.
- C. Any person found guilty of a violation of this section shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor; and upon conviction, (i) such person shall be ordered to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $500 or ordered to perform a mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service as a condition of probation supervision and (ii) the license to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of any such person age 18 or older shall be suspended for a period of not less than six months and not more than one year; the license to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of any juvenile shall be handled in accordance with the provisions of § 16.1-278.9.
Contact Prince George criminal lawyer David Long for a FREE Consultation 804.285.3888.
Possession of Marijuana Lawyer in Prince George County, Virginia
It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to have Possession of Marijuana in Virginia unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the Drug Control Act. If you are charged with the criminal offense of possession of marijuana, contact our Prince George, County criminal law firm.
Virginia Possession of Marijuana Laws
§ 18.2-250.1. Possession of marijuana unlawful.
A. It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess marijuana unless the substance was obtained directly from, or pursuant to, a valid prescription or order of a practitioner while acting in the course of his professional practice, or except as otherwise authorized by the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.).
Upon the prosecution of a person for a violation of this section, ownership or occupancy of the premises or vehicle upon or in which marijuana was found shall not create a presumption that such person either knowingly or intentionally possessed such marijuana.
Any person who violates this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and be confined in jail not more than thirty days and a fine of not more than $500, either or both; any person, upon a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of this section, shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Contact Prince George Possession of Marijuana Criminal Lawyer David Long for a FREE Consultation 804.285.3888.
Drunk Driving DUI Lawyer in Prince George County Virginia
Drinking and driving is a serious offense in Prince George County, Virginia and typically requires the help of an experienced Prince George DUI Lawyer. If you have been arrested for drunk driving or driving while under the influence of intoxicants in Prince George County VA, our law firm can represent you in court. Virginia law requires that a person charged with a DUI in Prince George, must stand trial within county court, so if you have been arrested for DUI, contact our Prince George County criminal lawyers for a free consultation.
Virginia DUI Laws
§ 18.2-266. Driving motor vehicle, engine, etc., while intoxicated, etc.
It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train (i) while such person has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more by weight by volume or 0.08 grams or more per 210 liters of breath as indicated by a chemical test administered as provided in this article, (ii) while such person is under the influence of alcohol, (iii) while such person is under the influence of any narcotic drug or any other self-administered intoxicant or drug of whatsoever nature, or any combination of such drugs, to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, (iv) while such person is under the combined influence of alcohol and any drug or drugs to a degree which impairs his ability to drive or operate any motor vehicle, engine or train safely, or (v) while such person has a blood concentration of any of the following substances at a level that is equal to or greater than: (a) 0.02 milligrams of cocaine per liter of blood, (b) 0.1 milligrams of methamphetamine per liter of blood, (c) 0.01 milligrams of phencyclidine per liter of blood, or (d) 0.1 milligrams of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine per liter of blood. A charge alleging a violation of this section shall support a conviction under clauses (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), or (v).
Contact Prince George DUI Criminal Lawyer David Long for a FREE Consultation 804.285.3888.
Experienced Virginia criminal defense attorneys serving Richmond, Henrico County, Chesterfield County, Powhatan County, Goochland County, and Prince George County.