Reckless driving citations are very common in Virginia, and unfortunately, they are NOT a traffic citation or speeding ticket. Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense! Drivers convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, including out-of-state drivers, will have a permanent criminal record. The conviction will also be added to a Virginia driving record for 11 years, and six demerit points will be applied.
Our Richmond criminal attorneys have represented numerous clients who have received reckless driving citations in Virginia. If you’ve received a reckless driving ticket in Virginia, give our law firm a call today for a free case evaluation.
What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?
§ 46.2-868. Reckless driving; penalties.
A. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
B. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
Punishment for a Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia
§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of a misdemeanor.
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
If you have received a Hanover reckless driving, Chesterfield reckless driving, Dinwiddie reckless driving or Richmond reckless driving ticket, contact our Richmond traffic lawyers for a free legal consultation.